Starting My Year Write

I guess I should apologize for the horribly cheesy pun in the title. It’s atrocious, I know.

I guess I should apologize for the horribly cheesy pun in the title. It’s atrocious, I know. But I’m writing this at 12:30 am and I don’t plan to spend any extra time thinking of a better one.

I’ll cut to the chase–I just got back from a ten day Writer’s Residency on Whidbey Island in Washington. It was awesome! That’s the short story.

The Ice House, where the Children’s and Young Adult writers met every day.

Chatting it up with cool writer people.

The beautiful view.

The Captain Whidbey Inn where the residency took place.

And I really do feel like I’ve started 2015 off right, having spent that time hanging around cool writer people, learning about writing, and (gasp!) writing. I’m excited to keep chasing the dream of writerhood in 2015 and excited to say I’ve been provisionally accepted into the MFA program in Creative Writing at the Northwest Institute of Literary Arts (NILA).

So what does that mean? It means a) I’m going to be doing a lot more writing. Because it will be my homework to write. A lot. And it means b) I will be sleeping a lot less. Sad face. It also means c) that I will be going back to Washington for another residency in August.

If you’re curious, NILA is a low-residency program, which means that you start classes during the residency and keep working on them through the online platform later. If I work hard, it will take me about two and half years to finish the program.

I also was brave and read one of my poems at a student reading one evening, which was fun and a new experience for me. I’m looking forward to heading back in August, but I have a whole lot of writing to do between now and then.

Leave a Reply

