A Thanksgiving Gift

I’ve been thinking a lot about generosity lately. Like how generous God has been to me, and how little I’ve actually explored what being generous might mean in my own life.

141127 Thanksgiving card 2.jpgI’ve been thinking a lot about generosity lately. Like how generous God has been to me, and how little I’ve actually explored what being generous might mean in my own life. Thanksgiving is a time to remember what we have to be thankful for, and it’s easy for me this year.

I’m rich in friends, many old ones and some brand new.
I have a family who loves me.
I have a safe, warm, comfortable home.
I have a job that uses my skills.
I have an education that few have an opportunity to get.
I have all the things I need to do my job well.
I have people that pour into my life again and again.
I have Jesus.
I get to hear about Jesus and talk about Jesus with other people who love Jesus multiple times a week.

God has been generous to me.

As we head toward Christmas, a time when we remember God’s greatest, most generous gift to us–His own Son–I’m asking God to teach me more about His generous heart. I want to know more of the joy of giving without fear, without calculation, without making a mental mark against my generosity quota. I’d like to dive a little deeper into the deep, deep heart of God and come up changed. It might be a small adventure.

For today, I want to say “Thank you” to a few people who have recently been generous to me. And Happy Thanksgiving to all of you!

Leave a Reply

